Star-studded Australian National Team Roster Released

The defending World Champions, Australia, announced their final roster that will try to defend their title in the upcoming 2010 FIBA World Basketball Championship, starting today in Czech Republic.

The 2010 WNBA Most Valuable Player Lauren Jackson, who recently led the Seattle Storm to its second WNBA title, will be leading the team in their campaign this year.

Australia Head Coach Carrie Graf also included WNBA players Penny Taylor, Krsti Harrower, and Belinda Snell, while Liz Cambage and Jenna O'Hea are the new faces in the team.

The 18-year old Cambage will man the shaded area along with Jackson, while his Bulleen Boomers teammate in the WNBL, O'Hea, will be one of the team's shooting guards.

The 21-year old Mariana Tolo, who played for the Canberra Capitals in the WNBL, will also be an added presence underneath for the Opals.

Australia belongs to Group A and will take on China, Canada, and Belarus in the preliminary round in Ostrava, Czech Republic.

Australia Final Roster for the 2010 World Basketball Championship for Women
(Czech Republic – September 23 to October 3)

  • Abby Bishop
  • Liz Cambage
  • Hollie Grima
  • Kristi Harrower
  • Lauren Jackson
  • Jenna O'Hea
  • Erin Phillipes
  • Samantha Richards
  • Tully Bevilaqua
  • Belinda Snell
  • Penny Taylor
  • Mariana Tolo


Speak Your Mind