Canberra Capitals WIN 2010 WNBL Championship

The Canberra Capitals captures their 7th WNBL Championship after defeating the Bulleen Boomers 75-70. The host of the finals the Bulleen Boomers were up most of the game and WNBL and WNBA star Lauren Jackson came up with a big steal and basket for the win

Superstar Lauren Jackson has another championship and MVP award after the Canberra Capitals made WNBL history with a gutsy grand final win over the Bulleen Boomers.

The experienced Capitals scored the last six points to win 75-70 after trailing the minor premiers at every change.

It was their seventh championship – a league record – in 11 seasons, and second straight after downing the youthful Boomers by three points in last year's decider.

Bulleen, who had lost just once this season coming into the grand final, remain yet to win a title.

For veteran coach Tom Maher – in his first year at the club – it was his first loss in eight WNBL grand finals.

Top scorers

Canberra Transact Capitals 75 (N Hurst 21, L Jackson 18, C Wilson 12)
Global Metals Bulleen Boomers 70 (J O’Hea 26, E Cambage 16, S Milner 8)


Speak Your Mind