Turkey Releases Younger EuroBasket Women 2013 Preliminary Squad

Turkey will open somehow a new chapter of their women’s basketball history by parading a young-players-dominated preliminary squad for the upcoming EuroBasket Women 2013 in France.

Turkey head coach Ceyhun Yildizoglu opted to select at least nine players who were born in the nineties as part of their 19-players preliminary squad that will start training for this year’s European women’s championship.

Among those nine players are Elif Emirtekin, Olcay Cakir, Ozge Kavurmacioglu, and Merve Aydin, who all made huge impact for Turkey last summer. The quartet helped Turkey win the bronze medal in the 2012 U20 European Championship last summer in Debrecen. It was the first-ever medal finish for Turkey in a youth tournament.

Aside from the young players who were promoted to the senior squad, returning players are also expected to make an impact for the Turkish women’s squad.

Nevriye Yilmaz, who had a dismal season because of injuries, was included in the preliminary squad and she is expected to be the main scoring threat of the Turkish women’s squad. Superb playmaker Birsel Vardarli is also tipped to make the final roster, while American standout Quanitra Hollingsworth will be the naturalized player of the squad once again.

The 19-strong preliminary squad will start training for the upcoming tournament in the coming weeks once the players from Galatasaray and Fenerbahce, which collided in the Turkish Championship Finals, return from extra weeks of rest. The final warm-up schedule will be released soon according to team officials.

Turkey was drawn in Group A of the EuroBasket Women 2013 wherein they will go up against Montenegro, Slovak Republic, and Ukraine.

Turkey EuroBasket Women 2013 Preliminary Squad

  • Elif Emirtekin
  • Olcay Cakir
  • Ozge Kavurmacioglu
  • Naile Cirak
  • Begum Dalgalar
  • Pinar Demirok
  • Esra Ural
  • Aysegul Gunay
  • Merve Aydin
  • Tugce Murat
  • Tugce Canitez
  • Esmeral Tuncluer
  • Birsel Vardarli
  • Nevriye Yilmaz
  • Saziye Ivegin
  • Isil Alben
  • Bahar Caglar
  • Tugba Palazoglu
  • Quanitra Hollingsworth


Speak Your Mind