EuroLeague Women 2013-14 Season Draw Completed

Exactly four months from now, the EuroLeague Women 2013-14 Season will kick off, but we now have a clear view of what to expect in the brand new season of the premier women’s basketball league in Europe. The composition of each of the three groups was finalized on Friday in the draw held in Munich.

The reigning and defending EuroLeague Women champions UMMC Ekaterinburg leads Group A cast wherein they will be challenged by Tango Bourges Basket and Good Angels Kosice, who both reached the semifinals last season. Famila Schio, Uni Gyor, and Kayseri Kaski Spor were also drawn into the group.

One the other hand, Fenerbahce, the losing finalist last seasons, headline Group B wherein they will go up against perennial contender Rivas Ecopolis. Also included in Group B are Wisla Can-Pack Krakow, Nadezhda Orenburg, UE Sopron, BK IMOS Brno, and Lattes Montpellier.

Meanwhile, Group C will feature four-time EuroLeague Women champions Sparta&K MR Vidnoje together with expected powerhouse squads Galatasaray and Perfumerias Avenida. Also drawn into this group are CCC Polkowice, USK Prague, WBC Novi Zagreb, and Kibirkstis VICI-IKI Vilnius.

The format states that if the Final Eight host finishes within the top five in their group, the top five teams in each group will advance to the next round with the host earning a bye.

But if the Final Eight host finished outside of the top five in their group, the top four teams in each group will advance to the next round along with the host and the top two fifth-place teams.

The EuroLeague Women 2013-14 Season will kick off on November 6, while the Final Eight will run from April 7-13 in a yet to be determined venue.

EuroLeague Women 2013-14 Season Groups
Group A

  • UMMC Ekaterinburg
  • Tango Bourges Basket
  • Good Angels Kosice
  • Famila Schio
  • UNI Gyor
  • Kayseri Kaski Spor

Group B

  • Rivas Ecopolis
  • Wisla Can-Pack Krakow
  • Nadezhda Orenburg
  • UE Sopron
  • BK IMOS Brno
  • Lattes Montpellier

Group C

  • Perfumerias Avenida
  • Galatasaray
  • CCC Polkowice
  • USK Prague
  • WBC Novi Zagreb
  • Kibirkstis VICI-IKI Vilnius


Speak Your Mind