USA Womens National Team 2010-2012 Roster

In hopes of another Gold Medal, the USA Womens National Basketball Roster has been set. Twelve players who are all experienced internationally have been added to the USA Team Roster. The 12 athletes bring the pool of players from which the 2010 USA World Championship Team and, should the USA qualify, the 2012 U.S. Olympic Team will be selected to 20.

  1. Alana Beard (Washington Mystics)
  2. Swin Cash (Seattle Storm)
  3. Tina Charles (University of Connecticut)
  4. Shameka Christon (New York Liberty)
  5. Candice Dupree (Chicago Sky)
  6. Lindsey Harding (Washington Mystics)
  7. Asjha Jones (Connecticut Sun)
  8. Angel McCoughtry (Atlanta Dream)
  9. Renee Montgomery (Connecticut Sun)
  10. Maya Moore (University of Connecticut)
  11. Lindsay Whalen (Minnesota Lynx)
  12. Candice Wiggins (Minnesota Lynx)

Player selections were made by the five member USA Basketball Women’s National Team Player Selection Committee.

Head Coach Geno Auriemma is excited about the roster as he stated, "I’m excited because it’s a great mixture of veterans, young players, players who are versatile enough to give us an awful lot of options as to how we want to play".

The USA National Team players are obligated to practice and play in games during the WNBA season and are not excused based on WNBA games. The preparation is to win the 2010 World Basketball Championships in the Czech Republic (Sept 23rd – October 3rd) . The gold medal winner earning a berth to the 2012 Olympic Basketball Games in London, England.


Speak Your Mind